Why I Remain a Catholic

7 Jun
johnson1

Samuel Johnson (1709-1784)

But a convert from Popery to Protestantism, gives up so much of what he had held as sacred as anything that he retains: there is so much laceration of mind in such a conversion, that it can hardly be sincere and lasting.
~ Samuel Johnson

Read more…

2 Responses to “Why I Remain a Catholic”

  1. jmjriz June 8, 2015 at 7:46 pm #

    Great post Rick. It’s All True for sure…here is my take with a forward assist from your post. I gather that you might be from Iowa like my wife Jem. C’est vrai?

    http://eucharist-emc2.blogspot.com/2015/06/its-all-true.html

    • Rick Becker June 11, 2015 at 11:27 am #

      Thanks, Mike! And thanks for the link to your blog.

      In fact, I’m not from Iowa originally, but rather Colorado (by way of New Jersey). Love Iowa, though, and I’ve spent time at New Melleray in Dubuque. One of these days, I hope to get back there for a retreat — or maybe to purchase a coffin! Memento mori and all that.

Leave a Reply

